What Does Driving Without Insurance Entail?
Driving without insurance in Maryland involves knowingly or unknowingly driving an uninsured car or one without Maryland’s mandatory minimum liability coverage. You can also be penalized if you allow someone else to drive your uninsured car.
In Maryland, driving without insurance can have significant legal and financial consequences, similar to driving without a license. You could face fines, license suspension, and even imprisonment.
So, what does driving without insurance entail? Essentially, it means you are operating a motor vehicle without financial protection. If you get into an accident, you will be personally responsible for any damages, medical expenses, and legal fees that arise from the incident.
While saving money by not purchasing insurance may be tempting, the potential consequences of getting caught far outweigh the short-term benefits. It’s essential to understand the risks of driving without insurance in Maryland and take the necessary steps to ensure you are covered before getting behind the wheel.
Even if you have insurance on your vehicle, driving without proof of insurance, such as a card, will also land you in trouble even if you are insured. In order to avoid severe criminal charges, you might need the help of an experienced traffic lawyer.
Maryland’s Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Most people cannot afford to pay for damages out of pocket in the event of an accident, so Maryland drivers are legally required to carry insurance. Also, liability insurance is mandatory when you register your vehicle in Maryland. A minimum amount of $30,000 is required for bodily injury per person, $60,000 for two or more people, and $15,000 for property damage.
The MVA requires that you return your license plates if you plan to cancel your insurance. If you have moved out of the state, you should inform the MVA and provide them with the necessary information.
If you have moved to Maryland and you continue to have vehicle insurance from your former state, you may be able to convert your policy to a Maryland policy by contacting your insurance provider.
Furthermore, if a person is pulled over by a police officer or involved in a car accident, they must show proof of insurance. If you fail to provide proof of your car insurance, the officer and MVA will consider you not to have valid auto liability insurance. In addition, insurers are required by law to report lapsed insurance policies or insurance premium cancellations to the MVA.
Maryland Insurance Lapse
Insurance lapses occur when a driver does not maintain continuous car insurance coverage. This means the driver sometimes does not have an active auto insurance policy. A lapse in coverage may occur if you stop paying your car insurance premiums or get dropped from your insurer.
Maryland insurance laps can result in several consequences, including loss of license and registration, as well as financial and legal repercussions.
Penalties for Having an Insurance Lapse in Maryland
The state of Maryland may take several measures to punish those who fail to maintain insurance coverage, including revoking their driving licenses and vehicle registrations. In Maryland, penalty fees are $150 for the first 30 days after the lapse and $7 for each subsequent day. A $25 fee is required to reinstate your vehicle registration.
Once your registration has been suspended, your license plates may also be confiscated. Also, you may be prohibited from registering any new vehicles or renewing your registration until any insurance violations are resolved.
If you provide false evidence of vehicle insurance, you could face a fine of up to $1,000 and one year of imprisonment.
Additionally, driving without adequate auto insurance in Maryland is a misdemeanor, which impacts both your record and your insurance rates. For a first offense, a person may receive five points on their license, be fined $1,000, or be jailed for one year. A second offense carries five additional points, two years in jail, and a $2,000 fine.
If you cannot provide valid proof of active insurance upon request by law enforcement, such as during a traffic stop or following an accident, you will get fined for driving without insurance.
The more penalties you accumulate, the more likely it is that you will need high-risk driver insurance. It is advisable to seek the assistance of a traffic lawyer in Maryland in handling driving without insurance cases to build a strong defense.
Going to Court for Driving Without Insurance
The court will require you to plead guilty or not guilty if you are caught driving without insurance. Depending on the circumstances of the offense, a judge may impose fines, suspend your driver’s license, order community service, or even jail time if you are found guilty.
A not-guilty plea allows you to challenge the evidence presented against you. You may also have the option of negotiating a plea deal with the prosecution in exchange for a guilty plea.
A lawyer can assist you in understanding the legal process and potential consequences of the charges against you.
A Maryland criminal lawyer can review the evidence and challenge any inconsistencies or inaccuracies; they can negotiate with the prosecution to reduce the charges.
How Can Scrofano Law P.C. Help You with Your Insurance Charge in Maryland?
Are you facing a driving without insurance charge in Maryland and unsure what to do?
Our attorneys at Scrofano Law P.C. can guide you through the legal process and help you understand your options.
As you navigate the criminal justice system, our excellent reckless driving lawyers will examine the evidence, negotiate with the prosecution, and work to achieve a positive outcome for your case.
Don’t face the charges alone. Contact Scrofano Law P.C. today, and let us help you get back on track.
NEED AN ATTORNEY?
We fight for your rights!