Maryland Sex Offense Lawyer
Getting arrested and charged with a sex offense in Maryland can have devastating consequences. These are serious offenses that often can result in substantial prison time, loss of liberty, and require the defendant to register for the Maryland sex offender registry for up to life. To understand how Maryland sex offenses work, its first important to understand how the law defines key terms.
A sexual act is defined (paraphrasing) as an action where any object penetrates another person’s genital area regardless of how slight and a reasonable person construes that action’s purpose to be sexual gratification or abuse. This definition also includes analingus, cunnilingus, fellatio, and intercourse. The law specifically excludes penetration when done for a commonly accepted medical reason.
The law defines sexual contact as the same as above when done with a part of a person’s body that is not the penis, tongue, or mouth. In addition, the law excludes the above conduct when done for a recognized medical reason and when it’s a “common expression of familial or friendly expression.” The law further defines “intercourse” as penetration no matter how slight and regardless of whether semen emits.
First Degree Rape in Maryland
Three scenarios can enhance the maximum penalty for this charge. First, if the crime occurs as part of the kidnapping of a child under the age of 16, then the penalty can be life imprisonment without any chance of parole. Second, if the accused has a prior conviction for the same offense, then the maximum penalty is life without parole. Finally, if the defendant is at least 18 years of age and they commit the crime against someone under 13, then the max penalty is 25 years to life imprisonment without parole and includes a mandatory term of imprisonment for 25 years.
Second Degree Rape in Maryland
The penalties for second degree rape in Maryland are also severe. The maximum penalty for the offense is 20 years imprisonment. In addition, the law enhances the penalties for situations where the victim is less than 13 years old and the defendant is over 18 years old. In that situation, the maximum penalty is 15 years to life in prison with a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years.
Third Degree Sexual Offense
Fourth Degree Sexual Offense
This crime involves engaging in sexual contact rather than a sexual act without the consent of the other person. A common scenario would involve a defendant grabbing another person’s breast or genitals without their consent where in some jurisdictions this is described as sexual assault. In addition, when the victim is four years younger and the defendant is under 21 and engages in any sexual contact with someone who is 14 years old or 15 years old, consent does not matter. Another scenario involves a person four years older than the victim but less than 21 and engages in consensual sexual intercourse. Many people refer to this crime as “statutory rape.” Finally, the last scenario involves a defendant over the age of 21 has sexual contact, intercourse, or engages in a sexual act with someone under 18.